Bursa Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

It’s never too young to have a retirement plan

Go down

It’s never too young to have a retirement plan Empty It’s never too young to have a retirement plan

Post by hlk Sat 15 Oct 2011, 09:22

FRESH out of university, Angeline Yeoh, 23, has joined the ranks of the workforce. And like her peers who are now beginning to draw their first paychecks, retirement is the furthest thing from her mind. “I haven’t thought seriously about retirement. It’s not a top priority at this point. I’m just starting out, and I have no financial commitments yet,” says Yeoh, who studied in Perth, Australia.

Perhaps owing to her middle-class background, she does not have immediate cause for concern. She lives with her parents and does not own a car, which significantly cuts her overheads. Her father is still employed, which means the family finances are not on her shoulders for now.

Yeoh has no insurance coverage, and puts her leftover money in a savings account. Her savings and investment knowledge is basic at best, and she has been unaware that a fixed deposit account yields 10 times higher returns than a regular savings account.

“When my dad turned 50 it dawned on me that I might have to be the breadwinner if he decides to quit or is out of a job. My kid brother is 14 and in a few years, I’ll have to help with his college payments. I probably need to get serious about my finances then,” she says. “I haven’t talked to my parents about money management. But they know I’m not reckless and that I’m stingy.”

Yeoh is one case in point, but if the statistics are anything to go by, the spending and saving habits of young Malaysians leave much to be desired.

The Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations recently revealed at The Star’s Protect Our Pockets roundtable discussion that an average of 41 Malaysians are declared bankrupt every day due to poor financial management.